Poets logo

Tomichi Point

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Tomichi Point
Photo by k.alexandra on Unsplash

I went to Tomichi Point

Just to test my skills

A place where some go

A scree covered canyon

And there is no trail

Just dusty winds blowing

And some don't live to tell the tale

So I tied my boots on tight

Pack saddled high up on my back

Drifted down and out of sight

It was sheer and it was narrow

My feet were fumbling the whole time

Searching for a cairn or some human sign

Loneliness slipped deep into my mind

The shadows of the canyon

Were darker than sun could shine

But shades of crimson

Crept out from the pines

A ghostly wind humming by my side

The rattlesnake slithered away from the sun

So these cliffsides were no trouble of mine

Vultures soared above me

For what I was uncertain of

When crumbling of rocks filled my ears

I took one wrong step

The one I'd been dreaming of

To these dark canyon walls

I did say my last farewell

And I saw a ruby filled sky

Remembered the love in your eyes

Watched the hawk flying high above

So no panic filled my mind

Just a fall from some average guy

With no trouble left in sight

And the bluebirds sing for me tonight

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.