Poets logo

To the piece of glass in my foot

Poem.

By Paul StewartPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
To the piece of glass in my foot
Photo by Marika Vinkmann on Unsplash

To the piece of glass in my foot

I remember when you first took root

The surge of pain as skin you pierced

You made my flesh your new home

Since your violent separation

From your previous existence

As the porter of our beverages

Whether carbonated, dairy or alcoholic

You nestled just below the epidermis

With fingers and tweezers

You would not budge

So stuck with me, you were

Until my body rejected you

I came to appreciate you

Your dogged determination

To stand your ground

In your new home

You taught me perseverance

Walking from here to there

Literally on broken glass

There were times

The pain would let up

I'd let my guard down

Relax

Then have a sharp reminder

You were still there

Just like my best friend

Just like my lover

Just like my wife

I want us to be together

Forever and a day

Like the piece of glass in my foot

You came into my life

jolted my body, heart, and soul

Like the piece of glass in my foot,

You left an indelible mark on me,

I'm forever changed

through the hurt and pain we've experienced

I never want you to leave,

I never want to remove you,

Like the piece of glass in my foot

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Note: A few months ago, I had a piece of glass in my foot that I couldn't get rid of! It eventually left me! This incident inspired this love poem. I wanted to put something up as I have another poem waiting to be published that is still being held in the review stage by Team Vocal. 19 hours and counting, so I was a little impatient and wanted to put something else out!

Here are a few other things:

You can also check out the rest of my work here.

fact or fictionsurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Kristen Balyeat11 months ago

    Unique love poem, but I like the parallels you wrote here. Sorry for the glass, but glad it gave you inspiration for this piece! You can now tell Ruth, “you are the apple of my eye, the cream of my coffee, the shard of glass in my foot!” Love it! 💞💫

  • Omgggg, I can only imagine the pain you felt! I'm so glad it's gone now! So brilliant of you to write this poem about it! 🍩🥐

  • Naomi's right. It's unusual but it works. It may seem an uncomfortable metaphor for a profession of love, but then love is quite frequently uncomfortable.

  • Naomi Gold11 months ago

    LOL this is so unusual but it works. When I was a teen I somehow got a thorn in my foot that wouldn’t come out, and scabbed over, but then it fell out and left this perfectly smooth little hole in my foot that eventually closed up. I’d never think to make that a love metaphor for someone who remains, even when I panic and push them away.

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    There are all kinds of odes out there... And I want to both laugh and cry at this one. Excellent work!

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    My son had a piece of glass in his hand from teenage horse play that stayed with him for about 10 years, before they finally surgically removed it! I like the love metaphor -- it adds a whole new facet of meaning.:-)

  • Alex H Mittelman 11 months ago

    Sounds… painful. Well written! I enjoyed this very much!

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    Well, this is a very different love poem! No to mention a very stark reminder of those nasty little slivers! Well done, Paul!

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Ouch ! I could feel the pain while reading this. Definitely one of the worst feelings. Well-done.

  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    You may want to copy the item that is in submit, submit that, then when it posts delete the original. Sometimes that works!

  • Test11 months ago

    Oh I love this. It definitely captures that feeling of frustration when you're in pain and can't make it stop. Love the alliteration. When I was about 23 I was cleaning and somehow kneeled on a picture frame, three pieces of glass ended up an inch an a half into my calf muscle....I still don't totally know how I did it because I didn't feel them go in. All of a sudden there was a hole in my leg and I couldn't flex my foot. Unfortunately they weren't gunna make their way out so I had to have them surgically removed but oof glass is painful. I'm glad it's out of your foot!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.