Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Final Entry

The last page of a therapy journal.

By Reid ChristmannPublished 2 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - July 2024
Final Entry
Photo by lilartsy on Unsplash

"This is the last page of this journal.

A record of strife that I never wish to read through again.

Unfortunately, I will need to buy a new one.

The problems never end, it seems."

I haven't had a catatonic episode since last Wednesday

but my chest constantly feels like it's about to burst,

my mind is so loud it's hard to keep things straight,

spinning like a motor in the red,

my fingers bounce across the desk

wishing it were a piano

as my foot taps the floor at an impossible tempo.

I only wish to distract myself, with music

or perhaps a game, or call a friend,

but there's no time to stop and smell the roses

because if I stop I'm dead.

This anguish is impossible to ignore

like turning your back on a housefire.

What would happen if I let it burn?

The thing is,

I don't know if I can go through trauma like that again.

My body falls limp to prevent a panic attack

and the last one felt like it was frying my brain.

I wanted to scream louder than I have in my life,

to tear my skull out of my head

as if it were the very thing killing me.

It's a scar, an image burned into my mental retinas

and one I only wish I could forget

but the smell of smoke still lingers.

I can't help but think that I'm broken;

My wires are crossed

sending mismatching signals

back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and back and forth

until I think I'm in danger every time my Dad says he's proud of me,

until I feel like she's lying when my Mom says she loves me,

until I assume I'm a burden to whoever I'm around,

until I forget what it's like to love myself

and doing so becomes a chore

dirty and laborious,

like replacing the firewood

and sweeping up the ash.

"Last page. What now? I think I'll leave a bit of room just in case."

Free VerseMental HealthFor Fun

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Laurine Asselin13 minutes ago

    I must say, reading Angela's "Final Entry" felt like a rollercoaster ride through emotions! That piece hit me right in the feels, then spun me around with its poetic twists and turns. I laughed, I cried, I accidentally spilled my coffee – Angela really knows how to stir those emotions! Brilliant!

  • angela hepworthabout 10 hours ago

    So emotional and powerfully worded. Wishing you the best ♥️

  • Addison Alderabout 12 hours ago

    Beautifully expressed, richly and believably emotional, with a well-judged note of optimism at the very end. Well deserved Top Story :)

  • Margaret Brennanabout 13 hours ago

    Congrats on TS. I'm really hoping this is a fantastic work of fiction; if not, I'm praying for your health. This is a true emotional roller coaster.

  • Andrea Corwin about 13 hours ago

    Congrats on TS🎉. Powerful emotions in this poem - loving self becomes a chore like replacing firewood and sweeping up the ash ❣️

  • Esala Gunathilakeabout 15 hours ago

    Congrats on your top story.

RCWritten by Reid Christmann

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.