Poets logo

To The Me I Was Before

Epistolary Poem.

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 1 min read
8
To The Me I Was Before
Photo by Andrik Langfield on Unsplash

Dear me,

The me I was before I was the me I am today

The me who had everything to gain and everything to lose

The me whose path wasn't yet dictated by the worst habits

The me who was not yet grasped by invisible diseases

The me that was not happy, but was hopeful, ever hopeful

The me that was desperately looking for something

Anything.

To break the curse. Of loneliness

Only to gain a new curse - a new disease

A modern disease

I want you to know I am sorry

Sorry for what I have done in the past

The paths I've taken, the choices I've made

The mess I've put us in, again and again

It was never your fault.

You will always be the best of me

The me I keep inside of me

The me I keep safe from me (or try to)

The me I long to be

With love from

Me

*

Thanks for reading!

I missed the deadline for the Epistolary Challenfe with this one and initially I wasn't worried about publishing it because it's focused on a similar subject matter to another piece. However, I found it sitting in my drafts and felt it needed to be published!

Hope you enjoyed it. If you did, I'd love to, as ever, hear what you thought!

Here are a few others if you care to take a look:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

love poemssocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreak
8

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm9 months ago

    A creative idea for the epistolary challenge .. a sad one but a good one.

  • Ruth Stewartabout a year ago

    I remember that me. I knew him well. ❤️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Beautiful, reflective piece. Well done.

  • Remembering a more innocent & hopeful time, regretting so many of the choices we've made, even as we understand that those choices have helped make us into who we are today. Then again, perhaps that's why we regret them. This resonated with me greatly.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This was very heartfelt. I think we can all relate to this a bit. I’m so glad you published this! That WIP folder of yours is legendary 😅

  • Sonia Heidi Unruhabout a year ago

    When you miss a deadline but complete the work to satisfaction anyway, this indicates a truth that must be said. This poem is no exception. Sad but tender.

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Great poem Paul. The greatest truths are the ones we reveal to ourselves. This poem shows tremendous introspection and hard truth. It’s is well written. I’m so glad you published it. 🥰

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I'm glad you published this one, too. It deserves to be read!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.