Poets logo

Foolish

My Heart

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 15 days ago 1 min read
2
Artist Unknown

The words have already been spoken

They still ring in my head from time to time

I was given warning from the start

But it didn't stop me then

And apparently, I didn't learn my lesson

Because here I am again

The heart reaching for what it knows it shouldn't

The mind remembers, it can still see it perfectly

The cries still echo, the tears still hit the ground like shattering glass

The body remembers... the good and the bad

The warmth, the kisses, the exhilarating shivers

The cold, silent screams at night, all while the world slept

But I cannot blame you, not anymore

The fault is my own

I was foolish to trust my own heart

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
2

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.