Poets logo

To the Lost City

Unanticipated Reflections

By Rowan Finley Published 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
"I Exalt Thee" Cover by Rivers & Robots

I was made in His image,

That sure makes me feel some kind of way.

As a mirror reflection,

I want to, by His heart, forever stay.

As a shadow in the evening,

I don't feel that beautiful, do you?

As a mime mimics, so must I,

I gain my value from my Maker, it's true.

As incense rises,

He makes me new when I ask?

Though He says it's worth it,

It seems quite a frightful task.

As I peer into the nighttime,

There is regret sewed into my soul.

While I had been fast asleep,

many others had taken a long sad toll.

He chose His vessels wisely,

steering them down long valley ways.

For His arrows took genteel delight,

as He used them to lift up praise.

Filling the broken cracks of pottery,

with gold of the Spirit's ebbing flow.

Forgive me for running away from You,

to the lost city, I will now go.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.