Poets logo

To Someone That I Love

You're Gone

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
2

You’re haunting me.

Suffocating out my dreams.

There’s an ache,

Smothering my heart,

Until the tears run down my cheeks.

I want you to be real.

I want to be able to remember how it felt.

To hold you in my arms.

To know that everything would be ok.

I feel you,

In my dreams,

I know you’re still here with me.

But nothing erases this gaping, bleeding heart,

That longs to be with you.

Life feels like a curse.

Like a burden that took you away too soon.

This pain dares to make me write.

This sadness fuels the words that I wished I could have said to you.

To have been able to tell you how much I loved you,

To be able to tell you how much I miss you,

To not cry when I see your beautiful face in my dreams.

I’ll be yours forever,

If only in my dreams.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsey Altom5 months ago

    Losing him because I feel I know who you are talking about was a blow to all of us but I know how much you loved him. This poem is both relatable and tragically beautiful.

  • Gosh this was so heartbreaking and relatable. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.