Poets logo

To be a woman today

By Jamie Ramsay

By Jamie RamsayPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

It was hard to be a woman today.

To be a woman involves explanations you don’t have the energy for.

I cannot harness that territorial love into my hips like she can, in front of other women who feed my body with their gaze.

Some days I can pretend I have teeth, today I’m tired.

All I have is quiet love.

My love is not dangerous, or loud, it does not stand with six inch heels and peer down noses, it does not say “back off, he’s mine.”

My love sit’s quietly, and patiently waits for your conversation to end.

My love leaves the room because it feels like it’s intruding.

My love is embarrassed because it’s afraid to take up space, my love is afraid that the quality makes me less of a woman.

Today, the conversations don’t stop to say hello and when I walk into them. They blow right over my skin like the wind through my hair.

Words are sticky like peanut butter.

Laughter is heavy when you’re outside of it. A math equation on a piece of paper, wondering why everyone knows exactly what to scribble down. Instead of laughter, all I have is a stone in my throat, on the train ride home.

slam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fictionart
Like

About the Creator

Jamie Ramsay

Every word is chosen from my throat, in the moments I feel too human.

I am your guide into the sinkhole.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.