Poets logo

To A Younger Me

A message to myself

By Natasja RosePublished 3 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
46
To A Younger Me
Photo by Rodolfo Sanches Carvalho on Unsplash

A letter I wrote to my past self, because there is comfort in having reached a point where I can look back on these things objectively, and marvel at how far I've come.

Dear Me of 30 years ago:

It will be ok.

You can't get a diagnosis yet,

But there's a reason you are this way.

*

To the girl crying in the bathroom:

It will be all right.

They change the rules, and never explain,

But you can't give up on this fight.

*

To the me just starting High School:

I know it seems so bleak.

You will struggle through the years ahead,

But you are the farthest thing from weak.

*

To the one, who once was two:

It is darkest before the dawn.

Things will never be the same again

Take this time to mourn.

By Mike Labrum on Unsplash

To the me who slowly rebuilds herself:

Keep trying, you'll get there.

You have so much left to do on Earth

You're unable to not care.

*

To the me with a diagnosis:

This is only the beginning.

The road ahead of you is hard,

Don't let it stop you winning.

*

To the woman struggling to keep a job:

You're doing better than you think.

The world isn't structured for such as you,

Life can change in a blink.

*

To the me who watches with wistful eyes:

You are worthy of being loved.

The right one is out there, though you've yet to meet,

Don't wait for some sign from above.

By Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

To the me who has friends, and family she chose:

Don't be afraid to be you.

They know who you are, and love you the same,

Trust that their hearts are as true.

*

To the me who just published her very first book:

It's a journey that doesn't stop.

You learn and you grow with every new draft,

This mountain has no top.

*

To the me of two years ago, broken-hearted, relieved:

There are better things waiting in store.

Your love may be new, but it's patient and strong,

Dating shouldn't feel like a chore.

By Mona Eendra on Unsplash

To the me of Today, who looks to tomorrow:

I told you that it would be better.

Your life lies before you, the future awaits,

Go meet it, at the end of this letter.

*

Dear the Me of the future still looming ahead,

Holding all the joys Fate will allow.

You've got all the tools, don't be misled.

Sincerely, the Me of the Now

By Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Oof, this was hard to write.

For more context, check out my Who Am I: The Woman Behind The Pen...

If you liked this story, leave a heart or a tip, and follow me on Vocal and Medium!

love poems
46

About the Creator

Natasja Rose

I've been writing since I learned how, but those have been lost and will never see daylight (I hope).

I'm an Indie Author, with 30+ books published.

I live in Sydney, Australia

Follow me on Facebook or Medium if you like my work!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Ward Norcuttabout a year ago

    important sentiment throughout, Natasha

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    What a wonderful lifetime in words! Huge amounts of resonance flowing from this poem. ❤❤❤

  • This was very emotional!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Loved the journey this poem took us on

  • John Eva2 years ago

    I just love the progression in this. The nostalgia heart strings it pulls, all the way through the life and a journey of a person who has learned so much and gives so much. Great poem!

  • Penny Fuller2 years ago

    What a gift to be able to give yourself. What a life you have lived! Great job.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fantastic! Hesrted previously!!💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.