Poets logo

Times when I think of flowers

A small poem for big memories

By Jay,when I writePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
1
Times when I think of flowers
Photo by Takehiro Tomiyama on Unsplash

Things that remind me of flowers:

By Jason Anderson on Unsplash

The ceiling fan in your bedroom that scared me, so we pushed the bed as far away from it as possible. Now, after a long night, I stare up at it and count its four petals rhythmically as my eyelids meet

Steady steady

They hold on

By Laura Chouette on Unsplash

Your favorite red lipstick on My favorite lips. Yours. The way they part when you form an O, the way they part when there’s an O forming (coming), the way I can see where your red lips claimed my land; Marking it to say “I was here”

By Shingi Rice on Unsplash

When I think of us.

Corny. But true.

Little seeds, unsure for a moment. Placed by the wind, the earth, the sun, the moon

Placed by fate.

Blossoming . Rising. Over any and all things. Looking at each other. We are each other’s winds, earths, suns and moons

Each other’s fate.

nature poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.