Poets logo

Time Capsule Nosebleed

Okay, So?

By Jerald DeanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

19, chainsmoke, in calloused heat

5 cigarettes, perform then leave.

Dad just passed, the blast - all grief

"The road ahead just seems too steep!"

(Try to take my life one night -

A breath, a bleed, another fight.

"Is it wrong tomorrow feels so right?"

9 times over - still alive.)

Every year I grow more weak

I tried so hard to stay asleep.

For years it felt like I could keep,

A smile on my frown for free.

(Another line, tin foil light

Ingesting absent paradise.

I kicked the habit, "I'm alright,

Just taking shots to soothe the bite.")

Now 24 I feel like dreams

Diluted worlds I couldn't see -

Deluded me - my ghost, my needs

In times when I THOUGHT I was me.

(The trash is gone, but I lost time

And I've never felt so good, 'cept high.

The change - it turns good things to fright.

Cause I'm STILL not used to feeling right.)

I've seen lives renewed, like leaves on trees,

When spring begins to plant it's seed.

In love I've found a new beauty -

I just don't see why she'd love me.

(Ugly thoughts from a "past-life"

Still mine to hold until I die.

Reanimated for awhile

Forever awed by all gone by. . .

And coming now that I'm alive.

Alive, but scared. It's so divine. . .)

©️2022 Avant-Garde Bohemian Studio

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.