Poets logo

Tidal Waves of Emotion

Poem. Content Warning. There's always hope.

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago 2 min read

tidal waves of emotion

roll towards and through me

I give into them

those powerful waves

as they

Drench me, throw me backwards

I let them take over

become me

become

the sadness

that hides inside, coming out to rear its ugly head when I'm weak

a hushed silence follows

and then nothing

the anger

that hides inside, coming out to rear its ugly head when I'm weak

a shout to the void follows

and then nothing

still breathing, still got hope

a chance to dream of something better

(But never give in to them, never give them too much)

calm always follows the storm, eventually

Then there's a brief reprieve

*

waves of emotion

like the waves of ocean rage

reaching dizzy heights

before crashing

Down over land

drenching all and assimilating everything

including me, until I'm soaked through

when fabric and skin are almost symbiotic

everything is stormy and treacherous

with a gentle lull, gentle defeat

I remain motionless

just like my heeart, soul and mind

everything is regret and guilt

with a gentle lull, gentle retreat

Inwards

still breathing, still got a chance

a chance to imagine something better

(But never give up on redemption and freedom)

calm always follows the storm eventually

With the hope of relief

*

All-consuming emotions

Drown me

when I let them

open the storm doors

hard to differentiate

between

the internal and external

coating me like the black tar stain of guilt, shadowing me like the black cloak of regret

the coldness and wetness

sticks to everything like the errs of yesterday

but tomorrow awaits, and it's refresh

as I try to see clearly

try to see the warm light

as the waves

the waves still flow

still breathing, still got hope

(But never give up the fight to stay on the surface)

calm always follows the storm eventually

and...hope?

*

Powerful waves of emotion

each carrying

different meaning and effect

destructive emotions

Drench and enrobe me

some - maddening joy

that soars too high, lifting me

to dizzy, bright heights of ecstasy

that make me believe in me

others - sadness magnified

that dives too low, holding me

in deep, depressive states of anxiety

that make me distrust even me

all-consuming emotions

leave me numb

silently numb

if only until they pass

(But never give up)

calm always follows the storm eventually

and then peace?

if only for a moment, only for a beat

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I realise this is very similar in tone to others recently. Needing to purge. I am in an okayish place right now, though, just to be clear.

Here are some others:

Free Versesurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Kristen Balyeat4 months ago

    Such an awesome depiction of riding the waves of this *experience*, and the format was beautiful! Amazing work, Pal!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    This felt like the tug and swell of the ocean on reading it.

  • Brenton F5 months ago

    May I say simply brilliant!

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Storms do, always, pass, and we can learn to float on very large swells once we stop trying to swim against them.

  • Whoaaaa, this was soooo intense! I hope writing this made you feel better. Write as much as you need to, to let it all out. Sending you lots of love and hugs 🥺❤️

  • John Cox5 months ago

    Firstly, I feel that this is a raw and powerful exploration of how emotion can rock and overwhelm. Secondly, it is profoundly moving and personal. Since my initial reaction to it was primarily visceral I read it a second time more slowly than than the first to concentrate on the musicality, cadence and the subtle changes in language and specificity. Lastly, I read the poem to better appreciate the imagery of storm and flood and the danger in the depths. But also to confirm that you never once used the word water in the poem even though it appears to be the connecting metaphor of the poem. I’m curious if that was a conscious decision or mostly the work of the muse? Or am I completely in left field?

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Left a heart!!!

  • If we're not careful, you & I will be hit with a copyright infringement--with our forever purge.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.