Poets logo

Three Sizes too Small

Broken

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
9
Three Sizes too Small
Photo by Jessica Ruscello on Unsplash

Young love

is what we were.

One day you were here

the next, you were gone.

******

Graduation,

you didn’t see.

Marriage,

you missed.

******

You came back

but I was taken.

Living the life,

I dreamed with you.

******

When you left,

I caged my heart.

I could love,

but my heart belonged to you.

******

My heart broke,

when my spouse revealed

the love he had

for a childhood love of his own.

******

Another cage surrounded

my heart

protection I know

and it did serve me well.

******

A second,

a third marriage,

and another two cages

was added to my heart.

******

Cold,

not willing to open

standing still

alone in the world.

******

I am happy

looking for no one.

Done, willing to live

life alone.

******

I knew

where you were.

My mind screamed,

“He left you!” Leave him alone.

******

Two years,

I walked passed

your store

undetected, unnoticed.

*****

The cages,

held tight.

Spoke lowly

of myself.

******

We had many shared experiences.

Including taboo topics,

things we understood

in the pages of the Bible.

******

Twenty one years later,

I reached out

for assistance.

Little did I know..

******

You’ve been waiting and hoping,

to make things right.

To tell me

the truth of your leaving.

*******

I had waited

thirty years,

to hear,

what I had done wrong.

******

I had not done wrong

came your words

to me.

responsibilities did us wrong.

*******

Lost,

never received letters,

caused us

to go our own separate ways.

******

My ears,

could not believe,

the words of confession

came from my first love.

******

We have grown older,

children gone,

alone in this world,

but willing to reach out.

******

Will I walk alone

again?

Do I believe

again?

******

I pondered

my mind,

heart,

and soul.

******

The cages,

rumbled deep inside.

with a snap

the first cage broke.

******

Second, third cages

burst like a damn.

Now, I am here

free from the bondage.

******

I have known love

that hurts from

deception

and ill intent.

******

Today,

my heart hurts

from forgiveness,

and acceptance.

******

Yes, love

my heart grew three sizes

when I heard

the truth of your love.

This pain,

is being let go.

to make room

for you, once again.

heartbreak
9

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.