Poets logo

Northern Michigan

I wonder…

By Sheila L. ChingwaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6

I wonder…

as I sit at this beautiful spot,

nibbling at the tastiness of lunch,

What loving lives lived here once.

******

The leaves are changing,

giving up what no longer serves them.

I wonder,

if the people were ready for their fall.

******

I wonder…

What families called this valley

Home.

My mind fills the space with them.

******

I wonder….

Who did my Great Great Grandparents

see when they brought

their items to trade in the canoe.

******

I wonder…

What news did they share?

Was it stories about Chiefs?

Was it stories of battle?

******

I wonder e….

What daily life was like

on the plane

That touches the water’s edge.

******

I wonder….

How many battles were fought

here that white men wouldn’t know

because it was between US.

******

I wonder….

what extra fears

lingered in the woods

after the whites settled.

*******

I wonder…

How many of those homes

are built upon the bones

of my ancestors.

******

I wonder…

if those bones became

the beautiful trees

and plants.

******

As I peacefully eat

my lunchtime meal,

I often sit and

I wonder.

Thank you for reading. I would like to invite you to read my other works. Click the link below and enjoy finding a story that interest you!

sad poetry
6

About the Creator

Sheila L. Chingwa

Welcome to my world.

Welcome to my thoughts.

I am proud to be a Native American Elder born and raised in Northern Michigan. Thanks to my hard work I have a B.A. in Education and a Masters in Administration and Supervision in Education.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.