Poets logo

Time Cannot Erode

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 22 days ago Updated 11 days ago 1 min read
6
Time Cannot Erode
Photo by pure julia on Unsplash

Let me paint the words I love you

in the dew upon your sill

Let me whisper like the wind to

warm you from the winter's chill

*

Let me hold you through your struggles

envelope you here in my arms

Fitting the pieces of your puzzle

flashing above, like shooting-stars

*

Until time deteriorates this shell

and I erode, withering like leaves

May I descend in bright pastels

showering my love from sleeping trees

*

To once again paint you a picture

of all the ways that I've loved you

Dancing on the wind together

until once more I am with you

*

nature poetrylove poemsinspirational
6

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Poppy 12 days ago

    This is an utter masterpiece. That opening stanza really melted my heart but the rest was equally gorgeous. Such a lovely poem!

  • Oooo, you even managed to use paint and wind twice! Loved your poem

  • Nice nice nice.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.