Poets logo

Three Rings in a Lake

: and why, possibly, I threw them there

By Lisa HPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge

Suddenly, I'm reinventing myself.

Suddenly, I'm peeling and tearing and calling it chiseling, but maybe, at this point, it's just falling apart.

Maybe my hands never grew past the first time I touched the wet wood of the doghouse my dad built, or maybe my knees will never get past the doughy smash of the playset I climbed across when the sun was dry.

Does the silver chain still hang from the tree, do the woodchips hug the ground loosely under the "run from my parents to here" spot I had?

How tilted is the roof that covered that park area, almost set on fire and reported by the cheater boy's parents?

I broke the bottle at the wedding and lied, you lit the candle that led to a night of disjointed laundry.

Your lessons were pale and shrugging.

I feel alone because everything changes, and my sister still got both the clock and the green chair.

I think I was right somewhere in all this time, but never let myself celebrate.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Lisa H

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Our paths may be completely divergent, but I identify with what you say, whether or not in the same way you intend. Sometimes I wish I would quit dwelling in the past & simply live in the present, enjoying what it has to offer. The past is where every celebration dies. Yet, there I remain.

Lisa HWritten by Lisa H

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.