Poets logo

This is me

standing up

By The Invisible WriterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
3
This is me
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

This is my anger, Calling out. My regrets

my empty moments rising to the surface

my past huddled up in breaths

I'm finally ready to give.

These are my mistakes screaming out loud

for everyone to hear...

this is where I stumbled, this is where I fell

this is where I got up, this is where I tried again.

THIS IS ME unburdening myself, taking off the weights

I've carried too long, these are my secret moments

opening up, my guilt reaching back

to touch every one of my broken places.

This is my dark side, stepping into the light, revealing

my intentions gone wrong, my frustrations

boiling over, my wrong decisions saying

hello...

These are my sins not going away, eating

little holes in the costume I wear, this is my fear

running scared from the world seeing the wizard

behind my curtain. This is my mask

slipping down, threatening

to come off, almost falling to the ground.

THIS IS ME, admitting I'm not perfect, dusting off

my conscious, stepping hesitantly forward, hoping

the path ahead, will learn from the one behind.

THIS IS ME, wrapping my arms around....me

forgiving myself, letting go hurt, closing old wounds

THIS IS ME escaping society, centering myself, finding peace

taking a hike in the woods, searching the space between trees

getting lost in Nature, meditating, breathing fresh air

losing my baggage, dumping my suppressed emotions

forgiving myself, finding the truth inside my hopes, my dreams.

This is me, THIS IS ME

STANDING UP, saying goodbye to anxiety

coming to terms with the steps behind me

accepting who I was, wiping the sweat

from my brow, filling my lungs with air

trusting in my Journey, believing

in the steps still to come, and

moving forward.

slam poetryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirational
3

About the Creator

The Invisible Writer

"Poetry is what happens when nothing else can"

Charles Bukowski

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Sarah Danaher11 months ago

    the poem describes so much in life. Very well done

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Will, I love this piece. It feels very much like that first moment after you post you something you love on Vocal, you’re baring your soul to the world and have the confidence to stand up to whatever criticisms come your way. You’re proud of who you are and what it took to get here, anxiety be damned if it tries to stop you! I love that you have used this line or one similar in several of your poems. “searching the space between trees” It creates great imagery and is such a great metaphor for what it feels like to look beyond what’s in front of you! I found this poem inspiring and uplifting, reading you defeat your anxiety in this moment! Great poem Will!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.