Poets logo

There’s something

Something that sticks

By Amanda McGuirePublished 20 days ago 1 min read
1
There’s something
Photo by Brett Jordan on Unsplash

There’s something about you.

When you came along and sent me a message I was in a place where I asked for a sign.

I’d put a question out to the universe wondering if I would ever be valued.

Busy lives seem to keep us apart. But your words of encouragement and admiration pull at my heart.

After words were confessed feelings grew stronger.

But as time passed distance grows longer.

A war grows between my mind and heart. My mind knows there are limits to what you are willing to offer.

Yet my heart clings even though it is irrational.

Consistency is all I’ve ever wanted but for reasons unknown you can’t give me.

All I wish is for your honesty.That your actions back up your words. Or quite simply, “prove it.”

But still a simple fact remains there is something about you that I cannot fathom.

Something that makes me smile when I think of you over something random.

Something that causes my body to ache for your touch.

Something about you that makes me want to share my hopes, fears and deepest thoughts.

There’s something about you I cannot explain but it feels as if you are buried in my heart and my brain.

There’s something about you…. Something that sticks.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.