Poets logo

A message

To my heart

By Amanda McGuirePublished about a month ago 1 min read
2
A message
Photo by Adem AY on Unsplash

My heart does this thing…

It flutters with excitement

A feeling that halts my breath and puts a smile on my lips.

There’s a small sound coming from my phone, your name on the screen.

I hesitate but a moment to read it wanting to remain in this moment of heart flutters and excitement.

But I give in as the two minute reminder dings.

Scanning the letters on my screen which form words that give me hope.

I consider for the moment my response.

Clever? Funny? Cute? Thoughtful? Or simple and straightforward.

As I type my heart does this thing…

It beats a little faster, my breathing a bit quick. The smile fades to anxiety as I bite my lip.

Too much, I think.

Oh well I decide, as my fingers cease their movements. Then one light tap and away the message goes.

Time passes by without a reply. My mind wanders to other tasks at hand.

But my heart does this thing…

It begins to weigh heavy inside my chest. A sigh of disappointment escaping my lips.

No longer smiling, more time passes and hope fades.

My heart does this thing…

It returns to status quo, a bit bruised but beating simply to continue life.

I whisper to the universe “When will I ever matter enough?”

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Amanda McGuire

Just a girl writing for fun… With a passion for helping others and striving to always be my most authentic self.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.