Poets logo

There's Just Something

An Ode to My Latest Reason to Smile

By Hannah PaynePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

There's just something about you

that makes my heart soar, makes me long for you to be near me.

There's just something about your smile

The way your entire body lights up and reaches toward the corners of your mouth as they lift toward the sky

your shoulders touch your ears and you hunch over from the sheer force of your happiness.

Sometimes it's cause I asked you if you love me. Sometimes it's cause you made a corny joke or saw something on social media. Sometimes it's just cause you remembered something that made you happy.

There's just something about your laugh

not that uncomfortable, loud explosion of sound that escapes your mouth when you aren't sure what to do

no that wheezing laugh that sounds a little (or a lot) like a penguin choking. That slightly hyperventilating squeak that fills the room with joy and giggles

There's just something about the way you kissed me that first time

Without a doubt you made me feel like I'd float away, it took everything in me not to giggle.

But you hugged me. We kissed and between each moment you held me close and made me realize you felt the same way I did.

There's just something about your drive in life

you know what you want and you're determined to get it. Yet you aren't ridged and scared but hopeful and excited. You respect we both have dreams and, even though we know they can coincide, you also respect if they don't. You want me happy and you are driven to be happy yourself

There’s just something about your determination to live life. As much as you look forward to the future, you don’t let it drown you. You enjoy every moment and make sure the present is great instead of claiming the future will get better. You smile in the now and don’t wait to be happy.

There’s just something about you that makes me smile and love life.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Payne

I write a bit of everything! I greatly appreciate every read and hope you enjoy 😁

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.