Poets logo

How bad can it really be?

A villanelle or something...

By Anna Published 12 days ago 2 min read
10
How bad can it really be?
Photo by Danny Lines on Unsplash

Just an ankle injury,

it's the pain I go against...

How bad can it really be?

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

In the school I feel dorky

when I'm about to collapse,

Just an ankle injury...

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

I think I'm good company,

even if I am "half-legged"

how bad can it really be?

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

It kinda hurts actually,

I can hardly leave my bed,

Just an ankle injury...

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

When my classmates turned to me

I just smiled at them and asked:

"How bad can it really be?"

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

I fucked up seriously,

maybe I should take a rest...

Just an ankle injury,

How bad can it really be?

~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~ • ~

This is my first time writing a villanelle. I've been admiring the ones written by Mike Singleton – he's a villanelle expert – and I was wondering if I could write one too. Here is my first one, not the best, but hopefully my skills will improve in the future. Thanks for the inspiration, Mike! 😊

Unfortunately the week didn't start well for me... I fell over during my practice and hurt my ankle badly... Since I can't go to practice for days, I'll try to write and read more. Luckily we have plenty of challenges and prompts on Vocal and I have my favourite book too, so I'm sure I won't be bored. I hope you guys had a better monday, take care, and don't get injured!

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed my poem, please let me know by leaving a tip, a like or a comment. Don't forget to subscribe if you're interested in my work, and check out other poems of mine too! Any support is appreciated! <3

You might like these too:

inspirationalVillanelleFor Fun
10

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Murali7 days ago

    One morning, when I was 13 years old, I rushed to catch the school bus. I was in such a hurry that I hurt my ankle. At the time, I didn't feel any pain, and I even wore a white shoe to school. It wasn't until a few hours later that the pain started. My ankle hurt so much I couldn't walk on it. After school, I went to the doctor, who gave me an ointment. After using the ointment for a while, my ankle felt better and better. Needless to say, I learned my lesson and stopped rushing around so much. Please take good care of yourself.

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Fabulously written and sending virtual hugs!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Novel Allen9 days ago

    I hope your injury is on the mend. Be careful and take care. Positives as you say reading and writing. Enjoy the rest. Get well soon.

  • Oh no, I'm so sorry about your ankle. Hope you recover soon. Sending you lots of love and hugs ❤️

  • John Cox12 days ago

    Ah contraire, Anna, your Villanelle is wonderful. A delight to the tongue and eyes!

  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    I liked it! Great job and if your ankle hurts I hope soon it doesn’t, LOL.

  • John Cox12 days ago

    Ah contraire, Anna, your Villanelle is wonderful. A delight to the tongue and eyes!

  • This wakes up my subconscious to remember when I sprained my ankle, broke my right finger and broke my metatarsals on my left foot the ones by my little toe. Ouch.

  • This is a really excellent villanelle and so pleased that you have tried it and it really drives home the pain of an ankle injury. I think this could be a Top Story.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.