Poets logo

The Box

Breakups don't stop at goodbye.

By Hannah PaynePublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

I’m kind of afraid

Of the box in the corner

The one that reminds me of you

But that’s not why I’m afraid of the box in the corner that reminds me of you

I’m kind of afraid of the box in the corner

The one that reminds me of you

The one that holds memories so tightly packed,

I’m not sure I can tell one from another

But that’s not why I’m afraid of the box in the corner that reminds me of you, so packed with memories

I’m kind of afraid of the box in the corner

The one that reminds me of you

The one that’s packed with memories

The one that holds the mundane and fantastic of our time spent side by side

But that’s not why I’m afraid of the box in the corner that reminds me of you, so packed with memories, holding the mundane and the fantastic

I’m kind of afraid of the box in the corner

The one that reminds me of you

The one that’s packed with memories

The one that holds the mundane and the fantastic

The one that left gifts for me, small and meaningless to the naked eye but meaningful to you and I

But that’s not why I’m afraid of the box in the corner that reminds me of you, so packed with memories, holding the mundane and the fantastic, leaving meaningless and meaningful gifts

I’m kind of afraid of the box in the corner

The one that reminds me of you

The one that’s packed with memories

The one that holds the mundane and fantastic

The one that leaves meaningless and meaningful gifts

The one that screams every time I ignore it as I once screamed out to you

But that’s not why I’m afraid of the box in the corner that reminds me of you, so packed with memories, holding the mundane and the fantastic, leaving meaningless and meaningful gifts, screaming for attention

No I fear that box for its weight. Simple cardboard and yet holding everything we once were. How can a box, no bigger than a picture frame, hold the remains of something once so alive and beautiful. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and yet my eyes have changed. But I don’t want glasses. My eyes changed because they needed to.

Just as that box remains in the corner, reminding me of you.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Payne

I write a bit of everything! I greatly appreciate every read and hope you enjoy 😁

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.