Poets logo

Therapeutic

“Dialogue Poetry” Challenge

By Kendall Defoe Published 11 days ago Updated 10 days ago 1 min read
Therapeutic
Photo by Mitch on Unsplash

“As I said, it has been a long time since I’ve talked about these things…”

(Need spinach, eggs, rice, pasta; maybe get some of those garlic Buffalo wings)

“My father was not a very nice man, and I think he is the reason why…”

(Should I call her back? She said that she would get back to me, or at least try)

“My mother was not very affectionate or able to tell me…”

(It has been four months; that’s enough time for her to accept and see)

“My brother was never there; can’t blame him for taking off and getting a life…”

(How was I to know she was already married? Can’t imagine her as a wife)

“And that is it, Doc. I hope that you can help me see a way through this…”

(Finally! I have enough on my plate):

“You are making real progress!”

By Alicia Christin Gerald on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

ProseRequest FeedbackMental HealthhumorFirst Draft

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Michelle Liew6 days ago

    We have much on our minds, indeed!

  • I'm always so paranoid that that is how my psychiatrist and psychologist feels when I talk to them. Lol

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    An intriguing back and forth dynamic in this with one side being predominantly internal! Nicely done!

  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    Oh dear! Why we shouldn't always trust a psychologist just because they're a psychologist! Enjoyed this a lot, sir!

Kendall Defoe Written by Kendall Defoe

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.