Poets logo

The Year 2023

I’ll happily say my goodbyes

By Colleen Millsteed Published 7 months ago 2 min read
Image courtesy of Pixabay

I had high hopes for you and I back at the start,

But I’m sad to say I’ll now be more than happy to part,

My eyes on the future with a heart full of hope,

Because seriously 2023, you made me struggle to cope.

**

Very early on you broke and shattered my heart,

When you took from me and pulled my world apart,

And each time I raised my head above water,

You quickly cut me down in a narcissistic slaughter.

**

I held on tight begging for some relief,

But you were adamant I learn the lessons of your belief,

You bruised me, battered me, shook me to the core,

And when I felt I’d had enough, you served me even more.

**

I came apart, I broke at the grievance and the loss,

But you laughed at my pain and showed me who was boss,

I tried acceptance and I tried a diversion,

But you pulled me in and drowned me in submersion.

**

I spent the best hours you gave me in a dreamless sleep,

The only place I felt any type of peace I could keep,

But you threw the book at me as soon as I awoke,

And destroyed every hopeful word I courageously spoke.

**

2023, you taught me shame, guilt, rejection and pain,

Not just once but on a daily basis again and again,

I’d hold on by my fingernails just hoping and praying,

But you trashed every optimistic thought, I’m just saying.

**

So, as we come to the end of our time together,

I’ll wish you the worst and sever our traumatic tether,

Goodbye and good riddance, I’ll not see you again,

And I’ll welcome in 2024, hoping it was not all in vain.

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

heartbreaksad poetry

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Wishing you a happy 2024!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Andrew C McDonald7 months ago

    Good riddance to bad rubbish. But, as 2023 wanders off into the mists of time, 2024 does not bode to be much better overall. Hopefully it will be so for you on an individual basis. Great job Colleen.

  • And that's how you flip the bird at 2023! Show him who's boss! Loved your poem my friend! May only good things happen to you in 2024 🥰🥰🥰

  • Prayers & blessings.

Colleen Millsteed Written by Colleen Millsteed

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.