Poets logo

The World Spins On

Poetry

By KelPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
24
The World Spins On
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Alone, I stand in this vast expanse,

A solitary figure in a silent dance.

No hand to hold, no voice to hear,

Invisible walls, my heart's austere.

Emotions echo in the empty halls,

Whispers lost amidst desolate squalls.

Aching silence, a weighty shroud,

Envelops me in a tear-stained cloud.

The world spins on, a bustling song,

Yet I am stranded, feeling so wrong.

Surrounded by faces, voices, and light,

Yet a cavernous void clouds my sight.

Longing for solace, a gentle embrace,

Yearning for warmth in this desolate space.

The ache within, an unspoken plea,

For a flicker of connection to set me free.

In this isolation, I am adrift at sea,

Lost in the depths of solitary debris.

Echoes of laughter, a distant chime,

But in this solitude, it's just me and time.

Alone, yet not by choice, I reside,

Seeking a beacon, a friend by my side.

Yearning for kinship, a soul to share,

To alleviate this burden I silently bear.

Oh, how I ache in this solitary zone,

Longing for solace, to not feel alone.

In the depths of this emotional tide,

I yearn for a connection where I don't have to hide.

So here I stand, in the depths of night,

Hoping for dawn to bring its light.

Until then, I'll brave this lonesome sea,

Hoping for a hand to reach out to me.

social commentarysad poetry
24

About the Creator

Kel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Sasi Kala5 months ago

    I like your poem very nice. Congrats!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is gorgeous. Congrats on the TS.

  • Waseem Chem5 months ago

    Excellent

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    A poignant, smooth flowing look at loneliness. Very well written! Congratulations!

  • Gerald Holmes5 months ago

    Excellent flow and deep emotional thoughts. Well done. Congrats on your Top Story

  • Kulshum Khatoon5 months ago

    The vivid imagery and heartfelt emotions resonate deeply, creating a powerful and relatable piece of art. Thank you for sharing this masterpiece!

  • This was so poignant and relatable! Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Love the rhymes and how it flows!!! Brilliantly written!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Very well structured poem, that flows with ease. So many great lines here. I especially loved “ whispers lost amidst desolate squalls” Well done!

  • Andrei Z.5 months ago

    Right? Whatever happens in our personal small worlds, this globe spins on. And having/making right connections is the only way to stay strong.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.