Poets logo

This Morning

Poppy's Prompt #5

By Dana CrandellPublished 14 days ago Updated 14 days ago 1 min read
19
This Morning
Photo by Chris Barbalis on Unsplash

If memories were mine to paint,

I'd dip my finest brush

In the azure sky above me

Here, in this morning's hush.

~

I'd tuck it in an envelope

And seal it fast away.

I'd keep it safe, next to my heart

To give to you one day

~

When all you see are cold, gray skies

And dreams start to erode

And dark clouds threaten to descend,

To press, 'til you implode.

~

Alas, it's incorporeal.

I cannot keep it pinned,

So I will simply save my heart

And send it on the wind.

~~~

nature poetryMental HealthinspirationalFriendship
19

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson8 days ago

    Lovely

  • Delightful! Like Poppy… my favourite stanza is the first… like a love song.

  • Poppy 12 days ago

    This is so gorgeous. I especially love the opening stanza. Really well done!

  • That ending felt do liberating! Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Andrea Corwin 14 days ago

    Dana, this is such a cool poem, I loved it, the rhyming the “hush” - excellent!💕💕

  • Manisha Dhalani14 days ago

    Dana, this was so so nice. What a way to describe a morning!

  • Shirley Belk14 days ago

    I loved the sentiment of those thoughts....lovely

  • Katarzyna Popiel14 days ago

    The words seem simple but, somehow, they managed to make me feel the spaciousness and lightness of the clear blue sky. Lovely!

  • Tiffany Gordon 14 days ago

    ❤'d it!!!!

  • D.K. Shepard14 days ago

    Wow, what a sincere sentiment captured in such a whimsical weaving of words! Great poem, Dana!

  • Alexander McEvoy14 days ago

    This was amazing Dana! “So I will simply save my heart, and send it on the wind” is my new favourite line of poetry ever written!

  • JBaz14 days ago

    No idea what the prompt is but i totally enjoyed this poem

  • Heather Hubler14 days ago

    Goodness, I loved this so much. Perfection 🔥

  • Hannah Moore14 days ago

    Or of course, you could write it in a poem. Which I get is what you've done but I couldn't resist a moment of contrary bluntness.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.