Poets logo

The Woman I Am

I Guess, I wouldn't Change A Thing

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
The Woman I Am
Photo by Susan Wilkinson on Unsplash

in life's many seasons

I wonder, if there was a plan

any particular purpose or reason

creating, the woman I am

the struggles I've gone through

that I now see, helped me to grow

all the pain I've endured

that I couldn't forgo

who would I be, if the story was changed

what kind of life would I have, had it been rearranged

the pain and the loneliness

needed to help me, rebuild my heart

those moments of helplessness

that tore my world apart

caused me to realize, who I was inside

that I was more than capable

to aptly, self-satisfy

each day I grow stronger

from my struggle and loss

I've removed the dagger

and became my own boss

the blend of emotions

and the healing of time

set this new life in motion

to find the prize is all mine

*

surreal poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Test5 months ago

    Loved the hopefulness in this! That is a lesson that takes a hell of a lot of learning!

  • Oooo, this packed a punch and was so powerful! Loved it!

  • Shirley Belk7 months ago

    One of your BEST! My fav: "I've removed the dagger and became my own boss"

  • Rachel Deeming7 months ago

    Kelli, this is absolutely brilliant. And I agree with the message entirely. I look back on painful moments and I know that they have made me the person I am today and I love that person. I loved this so much.

  • Babs Iverson7 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Love the lines, "I've removed the dagger and became my own boss." Your closing lines are brilliant!!! 💕❤️❤️

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Strength from strife. This is a powerful and insightful piece, Kelli! I'm getting a vibe here - do I see a Top Story in its future?

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.