Poets logo

the Woman

a poem about the version of myself that I want to leave behind

By Sarah ClifPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2023
51

I am the kind of

dangerous

that sees shadows

in the dark

and welcomes them

into bed. A natural

phenomenon; the

self-hating narcissist.

I like to test

my limits. Hold on to

the effigy. Burn you

into my brain.

People always tell me that

I’m locked, and even now

I’m still looking for the key.

Desperate. I didn’t know

I could take matters

into my own hands:

pull a hair-pin and pick

the lock. Practice the skill.

Intricate and intimate art.

Open myself.

performance poetry
51

About the Creator

Sarah Clif

She/her

Queer writer and poet, based in London

Using writing to discuss issues often sidelined by mainstream media as well as to reflect on my own personal life, experiences and relationships.

Ig : @sarahclif

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor6 months ago

    Hi Sarah - I would love to see you publish once again. your eclectic presentations are just marvelous and interesting. I'm just a retired highly scrutinized legal writer morphed into a self described 'Goof Writer'...Nothing more. Not into contests or rewards but so enjoy 'original' stories such as yours among the many snippers within our vm village - with sharp scissors these days. *I've subscribed with pleasure - I would look forward to seeing other offerings from you. 'J' in L.A. Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community

  • Hamza Shafiqabout a year ago

    nicely writtten

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Powerful! Well done.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    this is beautifully written. Very well done.

  • Janice Dailyabout a year ago

    The language of this poem is so raw and intense. When the speaker describes the act of picking the lock as an "intricate and intimate art", it adds a sense of complexity and nuance to the poem. Great job!

  • lilly jimenezabout a year ago

    oh my such an amazing and inspiring piece!

  • Jeevithaabout a year ago

    Good one ! Loved it.

  • I like the manner you wrote it📝 ❤️💯🎯Great Job👍🌹CongratulationsOn Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Very evocative!

  • Gary Ragnarssonabout a year ago

    This was excellent! And congratulations on your well-deserved top story

  • Sukunaabout a year ago

    Hellarious

  • Scorpionabout a year ago

    Unique one ✍️👏🤍

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Raw and real. Fantastic.

  • ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  • Maz De Roxasabout a year ago

    Wow

  • Alice Abyssabout a year ago

    Outstanding poem💚

  • Ivoni Anna about a year ago

    Nice writing!!I loved the hair pin key

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    Beautifully done. Thank you for sharing this ❤️

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Well done. Paced and emotive imagery 🥰. Congrats.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.