Poets logo

The way a tree makes wood from the air

by the way

By RuthiePublished about a year ago 1 min read
2

By the way,

I don't know what I came here for.

I don't know why I don't cry

anymore.

I don't know how

leaps of faith should begin.

But I think that you

might be

medicine.

I thought love was

something that you found.

You picked up some pieces

and you carried them

around.

And when you had enough,

you set them down, and

built a shelter so

you wouldn't drown,

and prayed

for good weather.

I thought love was what you lost.

Something that hurt you,

put you so high up on a cross.

Something you paid for,

sometimes too much for,

at too high a cost.

And I thought love was,

something that you forget.

Memories you traded for

whatever you found next.

Something that ached like

a red red sunset.

Something that pulled the breath,

oh, right out your chest.

And by the way,

I didn't know I was a prayer.

Until the leaves fell

all around us

and I was bare.

And we made some love,

out of nothing,

Out of what we had to spare.

The way a tree

makes

wood

from the air.

love poems
2

About the Creator

Ruthie

Singer in storms.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.