Poets logo

by the way

on a sparrow tide

By RuthiePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

By the way

I don’t know what I came here for.

I don’t know why

I don’t cry anymore.

I don’t know how leaps of faith should begin.

But I think you might be

medicine.

I think that, maybe, you just might be

the wind

Taking me somewhere, someplace out here,

that I've never been.

And I thought love was

something that you found.

Picked up some pieces, and you carried them

around.

And when you had enough,

you set them down.

And built a shelter,

so you wouldn’t drown,

and

prayed

for good weather.

And prayed, for good weather.

And by the way, I thought love was what you lost.

Something that hurt you, put you so high up on a cross.

Something you paid for,

sometimes too much for,

at too high a cost.

And I thought love was

something you forget.

Memories’ you traded for

whatever you found next.

Something that ached,

like a red, red sunset.

Something that pulled the breath

right out your chest.

And by the way,

I didn’t know I was a

prayer

Until the leaves fell

all around us

and I was

bare

And we made some love,

out of nothing,

out of what we had to spare.

T he way a tree

makes

wood

from air.

love poems
1

About the Creator

Ruthie

Singer in storms.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.