Poets logo

The Warmest Season

A summer sonnet

By Lia MercadoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

I wore a dress of lemonade and gold

And watched white daisies open to the sun

Beside the river’s bank, the water cold

Through emerald grass where we danced and we spun

I think of water balloons, afternoons

Spent smiling into cotton candy clouds

Old cartoons watched beneath bright yellow moons

Remembering days of laughing in crowds

Vanilla ice cream and walks at the park

We chased each other there, around the trees

We sat on the swings until it was dark

And I felt my heart melting on the breeze

I think of honey-colored firefly skies

Those nights I saw stars in your summer eyes

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lia Mercado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.