Poets logo

Trial by Fire

To love another woman

By Lia MercadoPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

My grandfather called it a sickness

He said I’d burn forever, Him as my witness

But my heart is lighter than it’s ever been

So I’m (not) sorry, grandpa, I won’t call this a sin

Because I see golden sunspots in her eyes

She’s molten honey and amber skies

She feels like home, the way it’s supposed to be

She’s cerulean stars in this slate-gray sea

If my friends’ love can be public, why, then, shouldn’t mine?

Through this emerald envy, my heart beats a battle cry:

You can yell until you’re red, and you can scream until you’re blue

But you’d have to kill me dead before this love you could undo

And even in the end, it won’t tear her from my heart

You’d have to kill my soul before you could rip us apart

And if it truly is a sickness,

If red hell I do incur,

I go down regretting nothing

I will proudly burn for her

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Lia Mercado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.