Poets logo

Talking To The Rain

Almost Time To Go

By Dan R FowlerPublished 23 days ago Updated 22 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - May 2024

Talking To The Rain

As I sit upon a rotting wooden porch listening,

I hear the words of falling rain dancing.

Across the surface once placid but now rippled,

Time the imaginary artist with cheeks dimpled.

It smiles at me across the void now breached,

Speaking of things it knows I can’t bequeath.

To promise things to others I no longer possess,

Is like creation urging eternity to acquiesce.

The winds I feel tug on my spirit to come,

To look beyond time’s spiderweb, to succumb.

But it’s not the time to surrender one’s persistence,

But to fortify one’s stance, and bolster one’s perseverance.

“Come let me show you,” the spirits chant,

Knowing full well to leave this place I can’t.

But I seek to know the hidden secrets it carries,

Ones often taunted by eternity’s emissaries.

“Be gone with you and speak of this no more,”

Orders the man of abundant years, seven score.

It’s not time to surrender my will, this human device,

Even though the glimpse I see may beckon and entice.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (15)

  • Esala Gunathilake18 days ago

    Congrats on your top story.

  • Rowan Finley 18 days ago

    Great job

  • Joe Patterson20 days ago

    Congratulations on your top story.

  • Kendall Defoe 21 days ago

    Well said!

  • Congrats on your TS.

  • Fantastic writing.

  • Ameer Bibi22 days ago

    Thought provoking 👌

  • Linda Goodman22 days ago

    Well written

  • Jasmine Whitmore22 days ago

    Deep and well written!

  • Andrea Corwin 22 days ago

    Lovely poem - death is cheated, it’s not time. Rain dancing and time’s spiderweb are wonderful descriptions. 💕

  • Tina D'Angelo22 days ago

    Dan, I love your poetry!

  • Deep and well written!

  • Anu Mehjabin23 days ago

    Eloquent, introspective, captivating.💝 and congratulations🎉

  • shanmuga priya23 days ago

    Fantastic poem!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.