Poets logo

The Voices

Written by: Lalana Balea

By Lalana BaleaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

Let them them in

No let them out

The demons from within telling you to give in

You’ll never look like her

Pout your lips and fix your eyes

All that confidence you walk around with

We know are all lies

You keep your head up and your esteem down

Smiling effortlessly so no one knows

Laughing relentlessly...

because that’s just how it goes

For them you make pain look pretty

For you pretty is just pain

Crunch your curls

Define your eyes

Grab your curves

And thank those fries

You’ll never be skinny, you’ll never be thick

You kill yourself with diets yet it’s your mental state that’s sick

You are not black you are white

You are not white you are black

Oh you’re African,

Are you sure?

Because you don’t look ...

I am what you tell me I am

I am African

I am Indian

I am Latin

I am Arab

No matter how loud I speak you will never hear me

And it’s not like you fear me

Because to you I am weak

Tattoo tears running down my cheek

While I smile effortlessly and I laugh relentlessly so no knows that that’s just how it goes

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.