Poets logo

The Unspoken Reality

A Poem About The Realities of Someone Who Suffers With Anxiety

By Trishawn BlakePublished 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
30

I can’t help it. I don’t fit in, and I seem to never will.

I struggle to make eye contact, my words can’t come out, and my feet just can’t stay still.

“Why are you so weird?” They ask. Not knowing I’m trying my best to fit in.

But every time it’s like a losing battle, it makes no sense I even try to win.

Don’t even get me started on panic attacks, they are excruciatingly wild.

I get episodes every now and then in my adulthood, but suffered from it immensely as a child.

I’m worried every minute, every second, every hour, and within every type of season.

And the funniest part about it?......It’s usually without an apparent reason.

It’s really an awful experience having it while even trying to pursue an education.

Because it constantly leaves you drained after your mind uses so much strength and long-lasting dedication.

But it’s okay though, I understand why I would come off as weird to even a random stranger.

Because my mind and body operate so differently, and I always feel as if I’m in horrifying danger.

heartbreaksad poetryMental Health
30

About the Creator

Trishawn Blake

Hey there! I'm Trishawn, and I've been doing poetry for 5+ years now! My goal is to create poetry that resonates deeply with others, and forge connections through shared experiences and emotions.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Eva Marie Chastain 2 months ago

    All I can say is; yes. I know. I had my first panic attack at 5. I don't drive anymore because it's just too hard to explain why I had to pull over three times to breath. After trying everything, Xanax is a gift from God. It's the only thing that makes me feel normal. I can't take it every day because it's so habit forming/easy to build a tolerance, but just knowing I have it makes life more bearable (and people like us aren't likely to abuse a drug we need to survive; I highly recommend trying it). Thanks for sharing. Hang in there!

  • Randy Baker2 months ago

    You captured it very well. Well done!

  • Justin Higgins2 months ago

    Oh wow! This is beautiful, raw, & honest. Thank you for your vulnerability. I don’t know what it is to experience panic attacks, though I’ve experienced one. But I do know what it is to have anxiety in social situations. It’s so demoralizing. Thank you for sharing!

  • Jeremy White2 months ago

    Congrats on top story. This is a good representation of anxiety.

  • Trishawn, your poetry eloquently and sensitively conveys the hardships associated with anxiousness. We appreciate you speaking up and bringing attention to this crucial subject.

  • It can be tough to confront unspoken realities, but important conversations often start here. Thanks for sharing your voice.

  • Test2 months ago

    Wondrous job! Keep up the exceptional effort—congrats!

  • THIS IS EXCELLENT! I HAVE ANXIETY TOO!

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    Well done! This is precisely what anxiety feels like, and you're not alone with this.

  • Patrick Etyang2 months ago

    nice sory i really enjoyed follow mine also and subscribe

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    Congrats on the top story, it's something I can relate to.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.