Poets logo

The Unintended Fiction Challenge

Can You Write a Story with a Picture as Your Sole Prompt?

By Atomic HistorianPublished 10 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
The Unintended Fiction Challenge
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

This is not an official Vocal Challenge. Just an idea I came up with last night.

So, I’ve never posted a challenge idea of my own. Or it’s been so long, that I’ve forgotten. But here’s one I came up with after writing Let Her Dance last night.

Your task is to enter a single word prompt into Unsplash. Find a picture that strikes/inspires you, and write a piece based on that picture.

There is no time limit on this.

The rules:

1. The picture must be from Unsplash. No, self uploaded images, AI generated images, or any other images that are not from Unsplash.

2. Your piece can be in any community, but must be fiction. No typing in a prompt that will generate a nonfiction prompt that you are comfortable writing about. The intent of this is to break from your comfort zone.

3. There is no time limit. You can respond with your links in the comment section on this story. But I’d prefer you to send them to me, and I will add them to a running list on the Story to create a compendium of everyone’s works.

Thank you. I can’t wait to see what everyone does. Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

Challenge Entries:

The Skeleton in the Basement- Paul Stewart

Beyond Words By Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Adventure By Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Let Her Dance By Atomic Historian

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    https://vocal.media/poets/the-skeleton-in-the-basement here you go. went dark.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    I shall be giving this a go...but I don't do social media so will just pop a link here when it's done :) Thank you for a cool prompt!

  • Sounds interesting. I'm not sure that I actually have a comfort zone from which to break free, however. What word to use? And when to start?

  • Ashley Lima did a similar challenge awhile back. Hers was to type our name in Unsplash and write about the first picture that pops up. Yours seems very interesting as we can choose any word we want!

Atomic HistorianWritten by Atomic Historian

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.