Poets logo

Let Her Dance

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
5
Let Her Dance
Photo by Jessica Felicio on Unsplash

I wrote this because I found this picture while looking for the cover photo of another article I’m working on. I thought it would be interesting to write a story around a random picture, so I saved it to my drafts. It’s been sitting there for a while. That was until it struck me today, and the story just poured out of me like water from a broken dam. I hope you enjoy it.

She wanted to be a flower

They said

No, you’re more of a pedal

Ha, ha

Yeah, right

Have you seen her walk?

She’s lucky to be a stalk

Selene just wanted to dance

It’s all she told her parents

Everyday

She poured her heart and soul

Into her craft

Hoping it would be her raft

To better days

That one day

She might find her way to Juilliard

Maybe even Broadway

But for now

Her parents struggled to pay

For their baby’s joy

She doesn’t need to be rich and famous

Or ever repay us

They would say

When others asked them why they work so hard for her to stay

We just want her to be happy

It would make her grandpappy so happy

To know that she dances to the song in her heart

That she picked up his love for this art

Even though he left us

Before her start

He would skitter and scatter

Making a thump, tiddy, thump, thump

As he tapped along the stage

Those were different days

It was much harder for us to shine

That’s why we give all to our daughter

And tell her to let it flow

You never know

How far you can go

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian, and if you want to help me create more content, please consider leaving a tip or become a pledged subscriber.

More from this author:

vintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemslistinspirationalhumorhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptschildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsart
5

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred9 months ago

    Excellent words

  • oh for the freedom to do as we will..hope floats on these dreams

  • Rachel Deeming9 months ago

    Yes, I can see how you got that from that picture. Something about her expression is of the dancer. And I loved the support network you visualised too. Great stuff.

  • This was so beautiful and uplifting! Well done!

  • C.S LEWIS9 months ago

    so amazing what are you waiting for can you join the group of my friends read the nice story that I have prepared for you have prepared for you

  • Manisha Dhalani9 months ago

    You should write more poems like this! Love the idea.

  • ema9 months ago

    I like the idea of the random picture to suggest a story! Great job!

  • May she dance 'til her red shoes have faded to pink & are no more. Just don't let me dance. (Ask my wife.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.