Poets logo

The thoughts of an ill girl

Oh winters breeze

By Nichole RileyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
The thoughts of an ill girl
Photo by Carly Kewley on Unsplash

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

So cruel and tricky you can be

Carols, snowball fights and laughing

The reality of late buses and illnesses

My voice may produce no sound

However, my fingers will not be silent

As they fight the aching

Oh winter breeze

Once so crisp and refreshing

Now so bitter and harsh

Why do you nip at my ears so

Close my throat

Deny my breath to dance in your winds

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

Alone for the festive period

I lay as I only heard silence

The blanket heavy on my body

It pins me to the mattress

Oh winter breeze

These coughing fits

I beg to see the end

One night's sleep is all I ask

Without the sudden wake

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

So cruel and tricky you can be

Carols, snowball fights and laughing

The reality of late buses and illnesses

My voice may produce no sound

However, my fingers will not be silent

As they fight the aching

Oh winter breeze

A time when spices fill the air

Once I longed for that time

Yet, now my smell has joined my taste

Both running for the hills together

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

So cruel and tricky you can be

Carols, snowball fights and laughing

The reality of late buses and illnesses

My voice may produce no sound

However, my fingers will not be silent

As they fight the aching

Oh winter breeze

Once so crisp and refreshing

Now so bitter and harsh

Why do you nip at my ears so

Close my throat

Deny my breath to dance in your winds

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

Alone for the festive period

I lay as I only heard silence

The blanket heavy on my body

It pins me to the mattress

Oh winter breeze

These coughing fits

I beg to see the end

One night's sleep is all I ask

Without the sudden wake

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

So cruel and tricky you can be

Carols, snowball fights and laughing

The reality of late buses and illnesses

My voice may produce no sound

However, my fingers will not be silent

As they fight the aching

Oh winter breeze

A time when spices fill the air

Once I longed for that time

Yet, now my smell has joined my taste

Both running for the hills together

Oh winter breeze

Here I lay from the other side

Your sons and daughters

Frostbite burning through my chest

Your magic is lost to me for another year

Oh winter breeze

May the next year give me memories

That last for the time of frost

The time of the whispers traveling on the wind

heartbreaksad poetrynature poetrylist
1

About the Creator

Nichole Riley

Hello,

Artist and writer in her 20s looking for a place to express myself in the art of word. I have Autism so apologise in advance is there is an unattended harsh tone.

"For every petal of the rose that opens a new secret is revealed."

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.