Poets logo

The Things That Hold.

a poem.

By Alyssa BenedettoPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

The world outside waits for me.

My blankets hold.

Hold onto my strength, my weakness, my love.

My cold, my warmth, my everything.

My blankets wait for no one

but me,

And whoever I invite in.

The ultimate comfort.

They listen to no one,

And yet,

they listen to me.

Hold me.

Tell me today,

and tomorrow,

can wait just another moment.

Until every inch

Of my body

Feels seen.

Ready to take that next step

Onto the cold floor

And anything that lies in between.

Until next our touch does meet

And once again drips in the comfort

Of nestling within.

Of home, against my skin.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa Benedetto

What started as a life saving tactic has now evolved into the main way I interface and create within the world. Growing from a simple documentation of the world around us, it has now become an avenue for my interpretation of the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.