Poets logo

The Student Sonnet

Work in Progress?

By Kendall Defoe Published 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
54
The Student Sonnet
Photo by Philippe Bout on Unsplash

Note: I have pretty much been dead on my feet this week with the midterm exams, weather weirdness in Canada, and the usual obsessions and concerns over money and future work (thank you, stress headache...stressache?). So, this may not be my best work, but I think it explains where my head is at and what I have had to deal with...

Sir, I must apologize for the last week.

I told you I could not be here for the class.

I guess I should have taken time to speak

to you. Does this mean I cannot pass?

I know, I know… I am just thinking of me.

But there was so much happening

with the family...and painful trick knee.

Did I tell you how I hurt it? Here’s the thing:

I really like the course; you make it fun.

I think that the lessons are important and clear.

I know I won’t be the only student, the only one

to say that you are helping us, but there's a big fear:

Is this going to be a permanent mark?

Am I going to be done before I even start?

Ha, ha... :/

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

Request FeedbackSonnetsocial commentaryhumorFor Funfact or fiction
54

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (41)

Sign in to comment
  • Lana V Lynxabout a month ago

    Such a familiar sentiment. I’m on Easter break now and am completely neglecting my grades. Wish I could downgrade or outsource grading altogether.

  • Trishawn Blake2 months ago

    Sounds good Kendall 😊❤️ Keep up the good work!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Always a hard one, and “Am I going to be done before I even start?” is a real fear that plagues the students. I’m lucky that I get to see my high school kids enough to usually know if they’re telling the truth or not, as there are a lot less of them than in college! That’s a tricky task.

  • Test2 months ago

    Dazzling job! Keep up the outstanding work—congrats!

  • Farhat Naseem2 months ago

    Nice share Kendall Defoe!

  • Jeremy White2 months ago

    Congratulations on top story. I do not miss those days.

  • Rayan Smith2 months ago

    helpful share! thanks

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    Definitely show the students!

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Impressive!!! ♥️♥️💕 Congratulations on Top Story too!!!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld2 months ago

    I work on a college campus and have overheard variations of this conversation a thousand times from both sides. But this is the first time I've heard it put so poetically.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Ah...in hindsight...it must be hard from both sides of the excuse/reason being given and being recieved. Even though you've said what you said...this was done so cleverly it deserves its Top Story recognition. Congrats, Kendall on a fine piece!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    So clever! Congrats on your TOP STORY!!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳🥳🥳

  • Carol Townend2 months ago

    I remember those days. I Sat at home worrying because I couldn't finish the lesson. And not to mention the days when I thought they would fail me because I had problems, despite my hard work. My heart feels you, Kendall, and well done on Top Story.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji2 months ago

    congrats on top story. Ya the weather uncertainty here is crazy too. No snow for 3 weeks now snow everyday...

  • LASZLO SLEZAK2 months ago

    Congratulations on the TS!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)2 months ago

    Condolences on the mental load you are carrying!! Hope you are finally seeing the light at the end of that dark tunnel Kendall!! Great sonnet, I loved the tempo and feel of it as I read it aloud!! Great work and congrats on Top story!!

  • Dana Crandell2 months ago

    Great sonnet, Kendall! Fortunately, my classroom and students weren't "conventional" so I didn't have to deal with this kind of thing. I don't envy you that, but I did enjoy the way you described it.

  • Melissa Ingoldsby2 months ago

    Really enjoyed this relatable piece !

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Funny! I remember making excuses too. As well as hearing them when I was a teacher!

  • Sania Asmat2 months ago

    So true

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I taught in college...nursing school. I can relate!!!

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    Congratulations for the TS!

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    I'm sure you've heard them all by now, lol. I bet you are a great teacher, if only they are willing to learn. Much respect, my friend! And the ending quote, 😅. Congrats!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.