Poets logo

The Stories They Cannot See

nobody cares as long as it's behind closed doors | a fictional story poem

By MelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Sydney Sims via Unsplash

The words still lingered

in my mind;

the 'I love yous',

the 'I'm sorrys',

almost as if you had them set

to play like a broken record

every time you fuck up.

The fuck ups.

Those damn fuck ups.

I never knew someone could

get so angry,

until I met you.

My face stung.

My eye glued shut.

Blood poured out

onto the floor.

Yet,

all you can say was

"I'm sorry".

That was all you could

think of saying,

while I lay on the floor

in pain,

crying as I tried to keep

my mind off the pain

you just caused.

"I'm sorry".

"I'll never do it again".

"I swear".

It's all the same.

All the same.

You promised me that

you were better.

You told me that

you got help.

You made me believe.

You managed to

convince me that

I was the reason you

behaved this way.

"I'm sorry".

"I'll never do it

again".

You're right.

You won't do it again.

You can't do it again,

if I left.

But I won't leave..

you know that.

You eat that shit up.

I won't leave.

I can't.

No matter the pain

you've put me through,

this is the best place for me to be;

in pain,

screaming for help,

crying to whoever could hear me,

this is where I need to be.

Otherwise,

why would others allow me

to live like this?

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.