Poets logo

The Sting of November Rains

For the Mother Combs November Rains Challenge

By Cathy holmesPublished 7 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
28
From Pixabay?

For Mother Combs six-line, six word November Rain challenge:

The bitter sting of November rains

cannot distract me from the promise

that, as trees shed their leaves,

if my soul sheds its smile,

it will bloom again in Spring.

___

Turns out I can't count either, since my six-line poem has only 5 lines. And no, I'm not changing it.

nature poetryinspirational
28

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 months ago

    First off, love your attitude to the line count. Secondly, five is all you needed, this was November.

  • I didn't even notice it only had 5 lines lol. I loved this poem though

  • Samuel 6 months ago

    Fan of your work! Keep it up- would love if we could support each others writing im Samuel- 📝

  • Denise E Lindquist6 months ago

    No matter, 6 lines, 5 or 14, you are a poet!!😊💕💜❤️💖

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    This is fantastic. Extremely lyrical.

  • Karissa E.L. Cuff6 months ago

    so lovely

  • Hope Martin6 months ago

    I love it! And haha its okay - you still did an amazing job on this poem even if it has 5 lines. There's absolutely nothing that needs to be changed about this <3

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Stunning. That metaphor of leaves and a smile is genius.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)6 months ago

    I love the flow and beauty of this piece! It felt very soul-full. But most of all, I love the sass in the authors note at the end. The whole I miscounted and I'm not changing it because I love my work as is!! That's the most beautiful part to me! 💜

  • Kristen Balyeat6 months ago

    Ahhh, absolutely love this! Gorgeous poem with an incredibly beautiful and perfect message! Lovely, Cathy! 💫💞

  • beautiful

  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    I loved this. What a beautiful sentiment.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Well, your math stinks, but I sure like your poetry!

  • Your sixth line can be: If I topple that boy over 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your poem!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    With or without six lines, it is a fabulous Fall & November nature poem. Very inspirational too!!!

  • I cannot imagine your soul ever shedding its smile, Cathy. But if it ever does, may your words here prove prophetic.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Nice one Cathy. I was all happy to post mine the other day and then realised it was seven lines long lol.. so I had to delete one! 😅

  • Teresa Renton6 months ago

    Perfect 🤩

  • Colleen Millsteed 7 months ago

    Excellently captured Cathy. The passing of a season.

  • JBaz7 months ago

    I really like this, you captured it wonderfully (But are you missing a line?)

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    oh, very lovely, Cathy My choices will be hard

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.