Poets logo

The Song

Comfort in Someone Seeing You

By Jason MoorePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

The Song

He was a boy, he was alone

Never at all, but he didn’t know

And he was loved, adored by a dad

A love it seemed, he didn’t think that he had

He was a man, and he understood

The path he was on, this could do some good

Why do you care so much?

The boy asked, why are you glad?

A little thing that creeps up you see

It isn’t measured, knows no bounds

Finds us when we stop looking,

no matter what we do

It’s called love and it’s in me

And I don’t expect you to understand

But, you’ve never been me looking at you

He was a boy, she was a girl

Held the key to his heart, became his world

Different paths, same destination

Can it be wrong, this growing love sensation

Down on his knee, he planned to go

A act so grand, how could he know

Why do you care so much?

The girl questioned, about my simple affection?

It’s a little thing that crept up me

It can’t be measured, won’t know any bounds

Happens without fear, it’s what we do

It’s called love and it’s in me

And I don’t expect you to understand

Because, you’ve never been me, looking at you

Miles he’s driven, things he’s sought

Awards he’s been given, things he’s bought

Don’t add up to the mountain he had climbed

Certainly not in the way he thought

But He had a father, that boy, had a Dad

Not like he wanted, but one he still had

Prizes were behind him, not the ones sought

He had a purpose, when he feared he had not

Just a little thing that creeps up on you

He can’t be measured, He knows no bounds

Happens when we fear, no matter what we do

It’s called love and He lives in me

And he doesn’t expect you to understand

Because, you’ve never been Him, looking at you

It’s a little thing that crept up on me

Without being measured, it knows no bounds

During the best and worst, no matter what I do

We call it love and I freely give it to you

And I don’t expect you to understand

Because, you’ve never been me looking at you

No, you’ve never been me, looking at you…

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jason Moore

Husband of Cassie, father to Hudson (11) & Harper (10)- plus 3 doggos.

I’m a West Virginia native, living in Kentucky now for 30+ years - although I’ve always loved writing, I’m just now taking time to do it. “If You Can You Should.”

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.