Poets logo

The Sirens Song Of Time

Once I heard it sweetly sung to me...

By Brandy LaraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Sirens Song Of Time
Photo by averie woodard on Unsplash

Once I heard a lullaby sweetly sung to me.

With melodies so soft and light, I drifted merrily through the night.

Close to dawn, I came upon a beach golden and serene.

With palms that swayed with winds that changed, and dreams that would never be.

From the dock, I lay my head close to shore longing to hear more.

But then I awoke suddenly and found my lullaby was no more.

I was alone in the dark, a child nevermore.

With fears that struck like a ticking clock, and no hand to hold.

I felt the chains tight around me, but could not see the veracity of their control.

I could barely breathe and the life was slowly draining from my soul.

How I longed for that lullaby and to flee far from that shore.

But time does not change in reverse, and wishes do not undo what was done.

The only way is forward, along the hard and treacherous road.

The chains I broke one by one, becoming lighter as I tread.

Then the light slowly came back to me, warming my icy breath.

It was then that I heard the lullaby, but this time not impressed.

I knew what it was made of, nothing but misery and regret.

I learned to interpret the melody that was once so sweet and kind.

I saw the depths of heartache and bore the scars of its rhyme.

Once I heard a lullaby, sweetly sung to me.

But now I hear a warning.

The sirens song of time.

Copyright Brandy Lara

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.