Poets logo

The second I saw you I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

By EM GreenPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
The second I saw you I knew,
Photo by Farrinni on Unsplash

Our eyes met across a crowded room.

My heart skipped a beat as I gazed at you.

You looked back and smiled at me,

I never thought it would happen to me, but

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

Our first date was so perfect,

We drank, we laughed, we flirted,.

I didn’t notice anyone else in the room.

I only had eyes for you because

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

We were married within the year.

But it wasn’t the best day of my life,

As who could choose one best day,

When I spent every day hand in hand with you,

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

You supported me every day of our lives.

My working life wasn’t easy,

You held my hand when my first patient died,

And dried my tears when I couldn’t talk,

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

Our family grew, to three, to four, to five, then four.

My grief consumed me, but you held me tight,

Until I could live again, with only a small tear in my heart.

And finally, I could see the sunshine again, because

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

We were always a team, raising our kids together.

Sometimes we passed like ships in the night,

Months would elapse, and we barely spoke about us,

But it didn’t matter as we were together, because

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

When the last of our children flew the nest,

It felt so empty, but then I looked at you,

A bit greyer, a bit stouter, and laughter lines marking your face,

You reminded me of the adventures yet to come, and I remembered,

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

We became Nanna and Pappa,

And our house was filled with the laughter of children,

You took them fishing and read stories to them,

You spun them in circles until you all fell down, and as I watched you, I thought,

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

Day after day, we watched the sunset from our porch,

But I never grew bored, as I was sitting with you.

Our bodies grew tired, and our lives slowed down.

But we still strolled along side by side, and I recalled

The second I saw you, I knew,

I knew we would spend a lifetime together.

We had fifty years because of that chance meeting,

We lived, loved, laughed, and fought.

We raised our children, and we loved our grandchildren.

Now my darling, it’s time to let go, close your eyes and be at peace,

Because I was right,

We spent our lifetime together.

love poems

About the Creator

EM Green

I write as much as I can, but not as much as I'd like.

www.emgreen.com.au

instagram @emgreen_author

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EM GreenWritten by EM Green

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.