Poets logo

The sand bar

Awakening

By Kristy BessPublished 26 days ago 1 min read
Like
The sand bar
Photo by Cristofer Maximilian on Unsplash

As the sand bar lay out in front of me the sun began to set. I was so preoccupied with the discovery of a group of hermit crabs fighting over a new empty shell that I almost didn’t notice the reflection of the sunset across the water until the colors reflected off the water and into my view. Looking across the sand bar the sea floor looking like wrinkled dessert land, every color imaginable reflected off the thin layer of water that lay upon the wrinkled sand bar beneath. The beauty of the moment was astounding and the realization that this simple evening was part of a spiritual understanding that I already had. I began to run across the thin water splashing the reflected colors with each stomp of my feet. Laughter rose from my chest like an broken damn filling the ocean air with a cacophony of water plop sounds from my feet and unbridled laughter. As the sun began to set in the distance and the bright red ball in the sky became lower and lower on the sky, watching it disappear was just as amazing as the color works it had provided just minutes before. As I walked home that night I had a new appreciation for the planet and the sea. New understanding of joy and a new spiritual connection that I had not felt before. As I lay down to sleep I smiled and rubbed my little feet together feeling the beach sand in my bed. Tomorrow had new adventures waiting and after all that was a very big day for a little girl.

Stream of Consciousness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.