Poets logo

The Rose with Throns

A Poem About Love And Loss

By Joy LakraPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
2
The Rose with Throns
Photo by Meghan Schiereck on Unsplash

She was a rose, so fair to see,

With petals soft and dewy,

And I was but a lowly bee

That came to drink her honey.

I drank and drank, till all my heart

Was filled with ecstasy,

And then she turned and stung me smart,

And bade me fly and flee.

I flew, but oh, the pain I felt

Was more than I could bear,

And for six months I wept and knelt

Beneath her window there.

But now I'm learning to forget,

And though my heart is sore,

I know that roses have their thorns,

And so I'll love no more.

I'll build a wall around my heart,

And keep it safe and sound,

And never let a rose depart

To break it with her wound.

I'll find a love more true and fair,

A love that will not sting,

And then I'll know what true love is,

And all my sorrows sing.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Joy Lakra

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.