Poets logo

The Rhythm & Blues

šŸŽ¶

By Andrew D. Guillory "Drewspeaks"Published about a year ago ā€¢ 1 min read
@772dreew

You ever get stuck in the past? like itā€™s never going away, not away from somebody like me. getting caught up everyday, sticking to that old hip hop nā€™ R&B.

Itā€™s like why? why do I give this presence my present like it doesnā€™t have a better place to be? portions of it goes, but never decides to flee. eating me up inside, glued to the majority of my conversations, like the lyrics from my favorite 90s.. R&B.

Itā€™s the grooves, smooth sounds, and cords like this, that just stick to me. understood by a few, relations to many, but never in whole. at least from this view, it never seems, to be there. maybe thatā€™s the past talking again, making itā€™s passing by me.

the tightest grip on my attention was what it did. looking forward no more. not looking at her walk away, not watching for the next place to be, head twisted around to see whatā€™s behind.. listening and waiting, but not for the new thing. cause iā€™m still stuck, on that classic R&B.

performance poetrylove poems

About the Creator

Andrew D. Guillory "Drewspeaks"

Creating, writing, and reciting | Check out my podcast:

"Mount Mogul Podcast" available on Spotify, Apple and Google podcasts, etc. etc.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    Nice writing šŸ“ ā¤ļøšŸ˜‰

Andrew D. Guillory "Drewspeaks"Written by Andrew D. Guillory "Drewspeaks"

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.