Poets logo

The Procrastinator

Yet Another "What Paul Did Instead of Finishing Works In Progress!"

By Paul StewartPublished about a year ago 3 min read
10
Created in NightCafe, Edited in CanvaPro

Procrastinator, that's what they call me. Can't say I disagree. Most of the time, anyway. It's a label I've come to wear like armour. Whatever the fuck that means. It turns out it runs in my family. I wonder if anyone else has the same kind of genetic heritage. Genetic or copied procrastination.

Rather do anything else than clear my to-do list in good time. Rather create fun haiku and play around with silly acrostics than write that important piece of fiction.

Other things seem so much more appealing, than my dabblings with the Fibonacci sequence or my recycled words project

Creativity isn't the issue. I have it in bucketloads it seems. But often what I choose to work on, is not the thing I should be working on.

Really think, and hope, I'm not the only one.

At least I am still regularly creating, making my old brain work.

Still should work on my massive file of WIPs. Those works in progress won't finish themselves.

The excuse that I often use is just that, at least I am creating, and the more I create, the more I write, and the more it spurs me to tackle the WIPs.

It often feels better to produce something more organically. So when I get ideas that take shape and have a life and purpose of their own - to just roll with it rather than work on eating the ugliest frogs in my backlog of WIPs.

Need to get more focused though, because I want to bring the ideas that fester to life as much as those ones that just leap out my brain - the ones that want to be first in line for the Create Story button.

At least I am still regularly creating, making my old brain work. Using the words and ideas as they come to me.

They give me little to no choice, as I've often said. The words need to be said, need to be uttered, and shared. It's like...stories need to be told. That guy who is waiting at the edge of the dark and creepy forest is held in a pause between life and death...waiting for me to seal his fate - whether it's good or bad. The man who is on the brink of committing suicide is still going to be there, stuck between life and death, unless I complete the damn story. However, a funny or pointed acrostic or haiku pushes itself to the front to be put out there first.

It's a constant battle and struggle. I need to channel that same attitude though, into my WIP folder. The one I talk about so much. The one that is sitting on my computer, digital and inorganic, and yet I see it staring at me. I feel it taunting me. Like it has a life, a beating heart. I need to treat it the same as I do those spur-of-the-moment ones.

Oh, the days when I have been working on client web content. Writing interesting content for a random office cleaning business or some web hosting business.

Never do I get a break from the WIPs calling to me...wanting me to do something with them...to complete them. It's like students who are looking to be taught and moulded into fully-fledged children of the future. But, as The Procrastinator, if there is a new word or an interesting phrase that comes to my mind, that wins out every single time. And in some ways, even if I do have to do better - I am fine with it!

*

Thank you for reading this piece, the latest edition in the unofficial, accidental series "What Paul Did Instead of Finishing Works In Progress!"

If you enjoyed it, please share your thoughts, click the heart, or both.

How do you find dealing with procrastination?

Some other work you may like includes:

You can also look at some of my other work here.

artsurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirational
10

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I definitely have a few ugly frogs that have been croaking at me for years hahah

  • Andrew-Stuartabout a year ago

    Never struggled with it in Academia but I definitely struggle with it in replying to messages! Thanks for sharing 👍 😊

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    My philosophy is that everything has it's place and time. Those WIPs that are meant to be completed will be completed when they're meant to be completed.

  • God, this was just sooooo relatable! My coping mechanism is taking a nap as I've mentioned before. Why are we humans like this, lol!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    I hear ya, buddy. I've been working on anything but my "Walls" story. Ah well, I'll get to it eventually I guess. Good article.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I struggle with this too! This is a super relatable piece - thank you so much for sharing! ❤️ Oh, and not to pressure you too much, but... I really am looking forward to those WIP's 😃

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Ok, stalker. Lol. Like a perk into my life

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Gah!! I love this...so relatable it could have been written about me too. I hear you in this and love that you are so free to share all your wonderful crazy. Just keep being you!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.