Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

The Poison

Smooth is my scalp; Sunken are my eyes.

By Jollyoddbod PoetryPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
1
The Poison
Photo by Caique Nascimento on Unsplash

Condemned in the mirror by the places that hair refuse to grow.

They tell me that I'm strong as I sit here and weep, what do they know?

Smooth is my scalp; Sunken are my eyes.

You look at me with pity, somehow you forgot how to empathize.

My veins turn orange as they pump in the poison that will save me.

Save me from myself; I want to live beyond the age of thirty.

Smooth is my scalp; Sunken are my eyes.

Hope and trust is tested as my heart they vandalise.

Breathing through the pain, I struggle because it hurts to breathe;

At this point, I don't know which is the agony I choose to believe.

Smooth is my scalp; Sunken are my eyes.

I would give anything to tell you I'm in disguise.

Wanting nothing as hunger fades,

Losing weight and patience as my world seems to be an open game of charades.

Smooth is my scalp; Sunken are my eyes.

When this darkness gives out, I will be left with no choice but to rise.

sad poetryinspirationalCONTENT WARNING
1

About the Creator

Jollyoddbod Poetry

Here I am, and here I'll stay;

Like the moon in the darkness that refuses to fade.

Clouds will cover, but cannot take from my reign;

Mark this as the moment that they realise, as they scoff with distain.

They fell asleep, I cannot be blamed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.